SAW IDENT Patient protection system is in use

Since 1 February 2019, the SAW IDENT-based system for patient protection in radiotherapy at the Dresden Municipal Hospital has been in operation. The project for the development of this solution was supported by the economic development of the city of Dresden. On February 7, 2019, the new system was presented to the public.

Methods of radiotherapy are widely used in medicine. The Municipal Hospital Dresden operates in this field, i.e. an X-ray therapy facility. With this, approximately 1400 patients are treated each year, primarily in degenerative joint diseases, but also with near-surface tumors. To generate the radiation, an X-ray tube is used in such a system. With the help of tubes of different sizes, the size of the radiation field is subsequently adapted to that of the clinical findings. A disadvantage of the system is that it does not recognize which tube is inserted. So far, the control of the correct choice of the tube to be inserted only by the employees, which carries despite careful work the risk of error. This means there is a risk of incorrect irradiation if the tube is selected incorrectly.


The system consists of SAW IDENT transponders on the tube of an irradiation device. The transponders are read via a reading antenna on the irradiation head and the ID is evaluated by a SAW ECO + reader and transmitted to the on-site safety system in practice. There, the recognized ID is compared with the required transponder and the radiation is released only when the tube is correct.

A major advantage of this task is that SAW IDENT transponders, in contrast to semiconductor-based RFID transponders, are immune to ionizing radiation and can thus be used permanently in the irradiation area.

Governmental funded project: SAW Patient Protection System for the Radiotherapy

Methods of radiotherapy are widely used in medicine. The Municipal Hospital Dresden operates in this field an X-ray therapy facility. With this, approximately 800 patients are treated each year, primarily in degenerative joint diseases, but also with near-surface tumors. To generate the radiation, an X-ray tube is used in such a system. With the help of special focus tubes of different size the size of the radiation field is adjusted to the clinical findings. A disadvantage of the system is that it does not recognize which tube is inserted. This means there is a risk of incorrect irradiation if the tube is selected incorrectly.

The aim of the project is to eliminate this source of error and to develop an automatic tube recognition, which reliably prevents a false irradiation through the use of the wrong tube and increases the safety for the patients. In order to facilitate the work of the medical personnel the tube recognition is to be carried out wirelessly without manual interaction over a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) system. Commercially available RFID systems based on semiconductors are sensitive to X-radiation. For this reason, the innovative SAW IDENT Technology from SAW COMPONENTS Dresden is to be used, which will enable the wireless identification of the tubes even in continuous use under X-radiation.

The project is supported by the city of Dresden within the scope of the Special Funding Guidelines for Innovation Promotion.

Wir stellen ein! [UPDATE]

Wir stellen ein! [UPDATE]

- Operatoren (w/m/div)

- Appliktationsingenieur für Hochfrequenztechnik (w/m/div)

- Ingenieur für Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik in der Produktion (w/m/div)

- Ingenieur für Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik in der Projektbearbeitung (w/m/div)

- Hardware- / Softwareingenieur für drahtlose Sensorsysteme (w/m/div)

Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter: Jobs

Interessieren Sie sich für einen anderen Bereich? Senden Sie uns Ihre Initiativbewerbung!

SF915G: The broadband filter for 902-928 MHz with only 1 dB insertion loss

New on the SAW website we present the SAW Filter SF915G. This filter provides a broad bandwith for the use in the ISM Band 902 bis 928 MHz combined with a minimized insertion loss of just 1 dB.

The major specifications are:

Passband: 902 - 928 MHz

Insertion loss: 1 dB (typical), 2.7 dB (maximum)

Package: SMD 3x3mm² ceramic package

very good side band rejection

and last but not least: this filter will be available continously and not be discontinued!

Click here for the datasheet:

SF915G

Misinformation: SAW filters are NOT discontinued!

Contrary to a faulty entry in a distribution catalog, the SAW filters listed there, for example the SF1575L, are not discontinued and still available.

You are invited to contact us directly.

Space-qualified SAW filters

The SAW devices of SAW COMPONENTS return to space! Because of the special properties of SAW components, these are predestined for use in space. In contrast to semiconductor components, the piezoelectric components are not affected by stellar radiation.

After SAW transponders have already been used in past space missions to track the clothing of astronauts, there are now new tasks for SAW filters from SAW COMPONENTS in space. On behalf of a customer, four new SAW filters were developed for use in satellites last year.


In order to prove the special suitability for the work in space, these components were subjected to a special space qualification and successfully tested for mechanical, electrical and thermal stresses.
The space qualification is also available on request for all other components of SAW COMPONENTS.

New development project: SAW Transponder with humidity limit sensor

For many applications, in addition to the temperature, the humidity is a significant indicator to monitor and control processes and to assess the quality of inventory and supply chains.

Funded by the European Regional Development Fund (EFRE) of the European Union the Partners Technical University of Dresden, Schneider Electronics and SCD are developing in their new research project

SAWSENS

 

a SAW humidity sensor systems, which provides information about the humidity

  • battery-free
  • wireless,
  • over a range of several meters.

In the future, the use in a wide range of applications is planned, including the storage of moisture-sensitive goods or the construction industry.

 

 

SAW Symposium 2016 in Dresden

The internationally since 2010 established SAW Symposium will be organized jointly by IFW Dresden / SAWLab-Saxony, the SAW Components Dresden GmbH and the Silicon Saxony e. V. this year.

From 20th to 21st October 2016, the event will take place at the Hilton Hotel Dresden.

The symposium provides a platform for scientific exchange of ideas and informs partners from science and industry on new research results and innovative applications in the field of surface acoustic waves (SAW). Their triumph march occured SAW devices initially to as high-frequency filters in telecommunications. Meanwhile, they are among the key components of modern industrial society and are used in the areas of "Industry 4.0" and "Smart Home", for example, for monitoring and control processes where other technologies cant be used due to the harsh environmental conditions or moving equipment. In addition to the already established field of SAW sensors micro actuators based on SAW are presented the first time, this year. So these new devices are increasingly applied for mixing and atomizing as acoustic micro-forceps or for the transport of fluids or droplets in the field of microfluidics. They are a research focus in SAWLab of the IFW Dresden. Remote readout SAW sensors, for example, for gas pressure, force or temperature measurement as well as associated readers and antennas but remain in the focus of the symposium.

More information can be found here: www.saw-symposium.com.

 

Exhibition & Sponsorship

The SAW Symposium provides an excellent way to achieve research engineers from academia and industry. Therefore, we invite you to present yourself as an exhibitor or to support this international symposium through a sponsorship.

Information can be found here: www.saw-symposium.com/exhibits-sponsors/

Register as a visitor: www.saw-symposium.com/registration/

Agenda

20.10.2016 1st Day SAW Symposium

  • 09:30 - 18:00

21.10.2016 2nd Day SAW Symposium

  • 08:00 - 16:00

Date:
20.10.2016 - 21.10.2016

Download Outlook Date

Location
Hilton Dresden Hotel
An der Frauenkirche 5
01067 Dresden

Hilton Dresden Hotel

Miniaturized SAW Sensor Modules

 

The smallest SAW sensors like the SS2450BB3 or the SS434FO4 cannot show their full potential if the complete sensor modules including antenna are much bigger than the sensors itself.

Therefore SAW COMPONENTS Dresden presents three new miniaturized sensor modules:

SSS2450BB3

The big and strong brother of the M4 temperature sensor is this M10 variant with flat dipole antenna. Ideal for rough applications in which the sensor has to be robust and easy to handle but still small and compact.

Simply fix it this a usual wrench and start measuring: The sensor is fit for applications up to 275°C and short reading ranges around 10cm, depending on the reading antenna.

Sensor + Test 2018

Treffen Sie uns auf der Sensor + Test 2018 vom 26.-28.06.2018 in Nürnberg.

Wir präsentieren Ihnen dort die neusten Entwicklungen auf den Gebieten:

 

  • SAW Temperatursensorik
  • SAW Kraft- und Dehnungsmessung
  • SAW IDENT (RFID)

 

Sie finden uns auf dem Stand 5-438.

Nutzen Sie unsere kostenlosen Eintrittsgutscheine. Sie erhalten Ihre kostenlose Eintrittkarte unter:

 

Ihre kostenlose Eintrittskarte zur Sensor + Test 2018

 

Gern können Sie mit uns einen Termin für ein persönliches Gespräch vereinbaren.

Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Förderprojekt: SAW Patientenschutzsystem für die Strahlentherapie

Methoden der Strahlentherapie finden in der Medizin umfangreiche Anwendung. Das Städtische Klinikum Dresden betreibt auf diesem Gebiet u.a. eine Röntgentherapieanlage. Mit dieser werden pro Jahr ca. 800 Patienten behandelt, vornehmlich bei degenerativen Gelenkerkrankungen, aber auch mit oberflächennahen Tumoren. Zur Erzeugung der Strahlung dient in einer solchen Anlage eine Röntgenröhre. Mit Hilfe von Tubussen verschiedener Größe erfolgt danach eine Anpassung der Größe des Strahlenfeldes an die des klinischen Befundes. Ein Nachteil der Anlage besteht darin, dass sie nicht erkennt, welcher Tubus eingesetzt ist. Damit besteht bei einer falschen Tubuswahl das Risiko einer fehlerhaften Bestrahlung.

Ziel des Projektes ist, diese Fehlerquelle zu beseitigen und eine automatische Tubuserkennung zu entwickeln, die eine Fehlbestrahlung durch den Einsatz des falschen Tubus zuverlässig verhindert und die Sicherheit für die Patienten erhöht. Um die Arbeit der Mitarbeiter zu erleichtern soll die Tubuserkennung ohne manuelle Interaktion drahtlos über ein Radio Frequency Identification (RFID)-System erfolgen. Marktübliche RFID-Systeme auf Halbleiterbasis sind empfindlich gegenüber Röntgenstrahlung. Deshalb soll die innovative SAW IDENT-Technology von SAW COMPONENTS Dresden zum Einsatz kommen, welche die drahtlose Identifikation der Tubusse auch im Dauereinsatz unter Röntgenstrahlung ermöglichen wird.

Das Projekt wird von der Stadt Dresden im Rahmen der Fachförderrichtlinie Innovationsförderung unterstützt.

Wir stellen ein! [UPDATE]

Wir stellen ein! [UPDATE]

- Operatoren

- Appliktationsingenieur für Hochfrequenztechnik.

Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter: Jobs

Interessieren Sie sich für einen anderen Bereich? Senden Sie uns Ihre Initiativbewerbung!

SF915G: Der Breitband Filter für 902-928 MHz mit nur 1 dB Einfügedämpfung

Neu auf der SAW Webseite stellen wir Ihnen den SAW Filter SF915G vor. Dieser Filter zeichnet sich durch eine große Bandbreite für die Verwendung im ISM-Band 902 bis 928 MHz bei gleichzeitig minimaler Einfügedämpfung von nur 1 dB aus.

Die wichtigsten Merkmale sind:

Passband: 902 - 928 MHz

Einfügedämpfung: 1 dB (typisch), 2.7 dB (maximal)

Gehäuse: SMD 3x3mm² ceramic package

sehr gute Flankensteilheit und Seitenbandunterdrückung

und vor allem: dieser Filter ist dauerhaft verfügbar und wird nicht abgekündigt!

Hier geht es zum Datenblatt:

SF915G

Falschmeldung: SAW Filter nicht abgekündigt!

Entgegen eines fehlerhaften Eintrags in einem Distributionskatalog sind die dort gelisteten SAW Filter, zum Beispiel der SF1575L, nicht abgekündigt und weiterhin verfügbar.

Bei Bedarf können Sie uns gern direkt kontaktieren.

Weltraumqualifizierte SAW-Filter

Die SAW-Bauteile von SAW COMPONENTS kehren in den Weltraum zurück! Schon aufgrund der besonderen Eigenschaften von SAW-Bauteilen sind diese prädestiniert für den Einsatz im All. Im Unterschied zu Halbleiterbausteinen werden die piezoelektrischen Bausteine nicht von stellarer Strahlung beeinträchtigt.

Nachdem bereits bei früheren Weltraummissionen SAW-Transponder eingesetzt wurden, um die Kleidung von Astronauten zu kennzeichnen, gibt es nun neue Aufgaben für SAW-Filter von SAW COMPONENTS im All. Im Auftrag eines Kunden wurden im vergangenen Jahr vier neue SAW-Filter für den Einsatz in Satelliten entwickelt.

Um die besondere Eignung für die Arbeit im Weltall nachzuweisen, wurden diese Bauteile einer speziellen Weltraumqualifikation unterzogen und hierfür erfolgreich auf mechanische, elektrische und thermische Belastungen getestet. Die Weltraumqualifikation ist auf Wunsch auch für alle anderen Bauteile von SAW COMPONENTS erhältlich.

Neues Förderprojekt: SAW Transponder mit Feuchte-Grenzwertsensor

Für viele Anwendungen ist neben der Temperatur die Luftfeuchtigkeit eine wesentliche Kenngröße, um Prozesse zu überwachen und zu steuern oder um die Qualität von Lagerbeständen und Lieferketten zu beurteilen.

Gefördert durch den Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) der Europäischen Union entwickeln die Partner Technische Universität Dresden, Schneider Elektronik und SAW COMPONENTS Dresden in ihrem neuen Forschungsprojekt

SAWSENS

 

ein Sensorsystem, welches Informationen über die Feuchte

  • batterielos
  • funkabfragbar,
  • über eine Reichweite von mehreren Metern

zur Verfügung stellt.

In Zukunft ist der Einsatz in einer breiten Palette von Anwendungen geplant, unter anderem der Lagerhaltung von feuchtigkeitssensiblen Waren oder der Bauindustrie.

 

 

SAW Symposium 2016 in Dresden

Das international seit 2010 etablierte SAW Symposium wird in diesem Jahr gemeinsam vom IFW Dresden/SAWLab-Saxony, der SAW Components Dresden GmbH und dem Silicon Saxony e. V. organisiert.

Vom 20. bis 21. Oktober 2016 findet die Veranstaltung im Hilton Hotel Dresden statt.

Das Symposium bietet eine Plattform für den wissenschaftlichen Ideenaustausch und informiert Partner aus Wissenschaft und Industrie über neue Forschungsresultate sowie innovative Anwendungen auf dem Gebiet der akustischen Oberflächenwellen (Surface Acoustic Waves, SAW). Ihren Siegeszug traten SAW-Bauelemente zunächst als Hochfrequenzfilter in der Telekommunikation an. Inzwischen gehören sie zu den Schlüsselkomponenten der modernen Industriegesellschaft und werden in den Bereichen „Industrie 4.0“ und „Smart Home“ eingesetzt, beispielsweise zur Überwachung und Steuerung von Prozessen, wo andere Technologien aufgrund der harschen Umgebungsbedingungen oder bewegter Anlagenteile nicht einsetzbar sind. Neben dem bereits etablierten Gebiet der SAW-Sensoren werden in diesem Jahr erstmalig auch Mikro-Aktoren auf SAW-Basis vorgestellt. So werden diese neuartigen Bauelemente zunehmend zum Mischen und Zerstäuben, als akustische Mikro-Pinzetten oder für den Transport von Flüssigkeiten oder Tröpfchen im Bereich der Mikrofluidik angewandt. Sie sind ein Forschungsschwerpunkt im SAWLab des IFW Dresden. Fernauslesbare SAW-Sensoren beispielsweise zur Gas-, Druck-, Kraft- oder Temperatur-Messung sowie zugehörige Reader und Antennen bleiben aber weiterhin im Mittelpunkt des Symposiums.

Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter http://www.saw-symposium.com/

 

Ausstellung & Sponsoring

Das SAW- Symposium bietet eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, Forschungsingenieure aus Wissenschaft und Industrie zu erreichen. Daher möchten wir Sie einladen, sich als Aussteller zu präsentieren oder dieses internationale Symposium durch ein Sponsoring zu unterstützen.

Informationen zum Sponsoring finden Sie unter www.saw-symposium.com/exhibits-sponsors/

Jetzt als Teilnehmer anmelden www.saw-symposium.com/registration/

 

Agenda

20.10.2016 1. Tag SAW Symposium

  • 09:30 - 18:00
    Topic areas 1 & 3

21.10.2016 2. Tag SAW Symposium

  • 08:00 - 16:00
    Topic areas 2 & 4

Datum:
20.10.2016 - 21.10.2016

Outlook-Termin herunterladen

Veranstaltungsort
Hilton Dresden Hotel
An der Frauenkirche 5
01067 Dresden

Hilton Dresden Hotel

 

 

Miniaturisierte SAW-Sensormodule

Die kleinsten SAW Sensoren, wie der SS2450BB3 oder SS434FO4 können die Vorteile ihrer winzigen Bauform nicht vollkommen ausspielen, wenn die kompletten Sensormodule inklusive Antenne um ein Vielfaches größer sind.

Aus diesem Grund stellt SAW COMPONENTS Dresden in den folgenden Artikeln drei neue miniaturisierte Sensormodule vor:

SSS2450BB3

Der große, robuste Bruder des M4-Temperatursensors ist diese M10-Variante mit flacher Dipolantenne. Ideal für raue Anwendungen, in denen der Sensor robust und leicht zu handhaben sein muss, jedoch trotzdem möglichst kompakt und klein sein soll.

Einfach mit einem herkömmlichen Schraubenschlüssel einschrauben und los geht’s: Der Sensor ist geeignet für Anwendungen bis 275°C und Lesereichweiten im Nahbereich, typischerweise bis 10cm Entfernung, je nach Leseantenne.